2021 judges announced

2021 judges announced

A trio of respected Australian artists and curators will converge on the historic settlement of Cossack next month to participate in the prestigious City of Karratha Cossack Art Awards.

Fremantle based artist and academic John Teschendorff, Waramunga and Luritja artist from central Australia Kelli Cole and Fremantle based Nyoongar artist Sharyn Egan will form the judging panel for this year’s awards.

City of Karratha Mayor Peter Long said the Cossack Art Awards continue to attract accomplished artists with diverse backgrounds from across Australia.

“I am very pleased to announce the judges for the 2021 Cossack Art Awards and look forward to seeing each judge bring their own unique artistic perspective to this year’s exhibition,” Cr Long said.

“I have no doubt this year’s high calibre judging panel will have their work cut out for them as they consider the impressive standard of submissions entered by talented artists both locally and from across Australia. We are very pleased that 55% of the entries are from artists based in the Pilbara.”

The Cossack Art Awards are presented by the City of Karratha with principal partner Rio Tinto.

Rio Tinto Iron Ore Managing Director of Port, Rail and Core services Richard Cohen said this year’s judging panel have some tough choices ahead and thanked them for their contributions.

“The City of Karratha continues to build the profile of the Cossack Art Awards, which has grown to become a real highlight of the West Australian cultural calendar, attracting the most talented artists from around the country.”

The 2021 Cossack Art Award exhibition is open to the public from 18 July to 8 August. For more information about the 2021 Cossack Art Awards judges visit the Cossack Art Awards website here.